When Does Destiny 2’s Witch Queen Update Drop?

When Does Destiny 2’s Witch Queen Update Drop?

Destiny 2: Witch Queen Expansion will be dropping today. Read on to learn when the pre-load for the update begins and when it is finally going live.

When Does Destiny 2’s Witch Queen Update Drop- Inner

As the Season of the Risen draws closer, the arrival of the Witch Queen, in all of her glory, too draws nearer for fans of Destiny 2. And the anticipation for the same, too has been, quite high. Savathun is finally back, after months of intrigue and pulling the strings from behind. She has removed the Worm from her body and all set and ready to wreak chaos.

With the update all set to drop today, i.e., February 22, 2022, the maintenance for Destiny 2 kicked off at 6:00 PM PST i.e., 2:00 AM GMT or 7:30 IST. Following this, Bungie kicked off all players from its servers, from all activities, just fifteen minutes later, i.e., 6:15 PM PST i.e., 2:15 AM GMT or 7:45 IST.

However, the pre-loading for the upcoming Witch Queen update started shortly afterwards. Fifteen minutes after the shutdown, to be very precise. So Destiny 2 fans who have been waiting for this much anticipated and highly awaited update, can begin with the preload and start with the Witch Queen experience as soon as it goes live, tonight.

Before The Witch Queen and the Season of the Risen launches on February 22 we want players to be aware of certain issues and information before logging in the first time. The following information may include minor spoilers for item and activity names.

A thread (1/8):

— Bungie Help (@BungieHelp) February 22, 2022

At the time of the writing of this article, we do not know much but the size of the file for the Witch Queen update. However, with the amount of content that Bungie has been showcasing, over the past few months, it is expected that this update will be one of the bigger ones.

Once the game has been updated by the Guardians, the servers for Destiny 2 will finally be going live at 9:00 AM PT, i.e., 5:00 PM GMT or 10:30 PM IST. Following that, the Guardians will be able to access this new update across all platforms, this includes, PC, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, PlayStation® 4 and PlayStation® 5. The maintenance, however, will continue going on for yet another hour after the update goes live, i.e., 9:00 AM PT, i.e., 5:00 PM GMT or, 10:30 PM IST.

The Destiny 2: Witch Queen expansion will be going live on February 22, 2022 at 9:00 AM PT, i.e., 5:00 PM GMT or, 10:30 PM IST i.e., tonight (Indian Standard Time). This update will represent the fifth year of expanded content and the sixth expansion for the game. Originally meant for a release back in 2021, the expansion is finally going live tonight on PC, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, PlayStation® 4, PlayStation® 5 and Google Stadia.

The Destiny 2: Witch Queen Expansion Is Going Live Tonight!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PYM7KDrx_Ho

We post the latest updates and insights from the world of gaming. For the latest news, updates, rumors and insights from the video games industry, upcoming games, new releases, game recommendations and much more, do keep an eye out on our space!

Source: Twitter, Bungie

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store